Committed to the success of our customers and our community.

In 1886, First State Bank opened its doors for business. It started operating in an office located in a hardware store with capital totaling $15,000. In 1938, assets at the First State Bank were the largest of any town in Nebraska with a population of 1,000 or less.

In 1952, the bank was purchased by the Lauritzen family of Omaha, leading to more than 70+ years of consistent, dependable ownership. This beneficial relationship still exists today.

In 2006, First State Bank added a branch location by purchasing the Harlan County Bank in Alma. In 2012, a third branch location was added in Bertrand with the purchase of the Bank of Bertrand, and in 2022, a fourth location was added with the purchase of Farmers and Merchants Bank of Axtell. These additional locations compliment the banking services currently offered to all First State Bank customers.

Our bank officers are here to help.

David P. Dannehl

President & CEO

Ted Collin

Senior Vice President

Joel Wheeler

Vice President/Branch Manager
NMLS#: 441814

Brent Samuelson

Vice President/Branch Manager
NMLS#: 631101

Chris McQuillan

Vice President/Branch Manager
NMLS#: 1166652

Samantha Stuhmer

Assistant Vice President
NMLS#: 1309822

Tyler Rabe

Loan Officer

Carolyn Anderson

Operation Manager/Cashier

Cynthia Wilken

Assistant Cashier

Stacie Schwarz

BSA Officer

Connect with First State Bank

Find Us on Facebook

Like us on Facebook and stay connected with local events, giveaways and more!

Visit a Branch

We have several branch locations in Bloomfield, Crofton, Center, Hartington, Niobara, and Yankton, and multiple free ATMs.

Contact Us

Give us a call, we'd be honored to assist you.